- Practice Areas
- Pennsylvania Bankruptcy Attorney
- Business and Employment Law
- Civil Litigation Attorney in Pennsylvania
- Criminal Law
- Family Law
- Estate Planning
- Municipal Law
- Personal Injury
- Arm, Hand, Wrist and Shoulder Injuries
- Bicycle Accidents
- Car Accidents
- Construction And Workplace Accidents
- Dangerous Premises
- Dangerous Products
- Dog Bite
- Injuries To Children
- Lower Body Injuries (Foot, Ankle, Knee and Hip Injuries)
- Motorcycle Accident
- Neck, Spine & Brain Injuries
- Scar and Disfigurement
- Truck Accidents
- Wrongful Death
- Pedestrian Accidents
- Real Estate Law
- Attorney Profiles
What are the differences between misdemeanors and felonies in PA?
If you find yourself in a legal situation in Pennsylvania, you might soon realize that navigating the laws of your state is more complicated than you had previously thought. To more thoroughly understand and protect yourself, it is advised to reach out to experienced Lebanon Criminal Law Attorney, such as the professionals at Henry & Beaver, LLP. At the very least, a base knowledge of misdemeanor and felony laws for your home state of Pennsylvania should be obtained.
In Pennsylvania, misdemeanors and felonies are classified into three categories- 1st degree, 2nd degree, and 3rd degree. The differences between the two types of crimes are primarily the severity of the offense, the amount of time spent in incarceration if convicted, and the monetary amount of the fine imposed when a sentence is handed down.
If convicted of a first-degree misdemeanor, the defendant cannot be sentenced to more than 5 years of imprisonment and fined no more than $10,000. With a second-degree misdemeanor, the defendant can expect to be legally imprisoned for 2 years or less, and fined an amount up to $5,000. A third-degree misdemeanor conviction will be received with no more than 1 year of imprisonment and a maximum of a $2,000 fine.
Felonies, or more serious crimes, and are treated with much more severe consequences upon conviction. If convicted of a first-degree felony, the defendant can face more than 10 years in incarceration and be fined a maximum of $25,000. For a second-degree conviction, a sentence of 10 years or less, and a fine of no more than $25,000 can be handed down. A third-degree felony may bring the defendant a sentence of no more than 7 years, and a fine not to exceed $15,000.
If you are currently the defendant in a legal situation, reading even this brief overview of the laws in your state can seem scary. That is where experienced attorneys come in to help. At Henry & Beaver LLP, experienced professionals handle your most pressing legal concerns. In the interest of avoiding harsh penalties, give the office a call today. Your future may depend on it.